compressor vs freon problem


  #1  
Old 08-03-09, 09:40 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
compressor vs freon problem

I have a trane system that worked fine yesterday but stopped cooling last night. pretty much just blows air. compressor and fan both run, however both lines are dry and are the same temp. as outside. Does this sound like a freon or compressor problem? could it be something else?
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-09, 10:17 AM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 255
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes, could be any of the things you mentioned.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-09, 10:41 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 753
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How do you know the compresor is running?
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-09, 11:02 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
i can hear it running. not loudly, sounds like my other unit
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-09, 11:17 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 753
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You need to varify the comp is running, take an amp draw at the comp leads.

Do you have a meter and know how to use it?

My guess is the comp is not running
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-09, 11:24 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just opened the top of my outdoor unit and there is some oil in the bottom, it's still dripping and looks like its coming from the smaller copper line about 5 inches down the line from the compressor. the line is dry close to the compressor?????

...i'll check the compressor draw...
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-09, 11:45 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 753
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
OK, well that would be an indication of a refrigerant leak. Is it right where a braze joint is? Verify its not the comp cap that blew up, if not its time to call your service company.
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-09, 11:54 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
there are two blue wires connected to a sensor which is held to the tube with a retaining clip just where the leak is.
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-09, 12:33 PM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 753
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Sensor may have worn a hole in the line, would have to see it. Either way, there isn't much more you can do other then call your service company, sorry
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: