Trane HVAC install price

Old 09-24-09, 11:03 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane HVAC install price

Hello, newbie here. I found this site while researching costs to installl a new Trane HVAC system. It lead me to a great thread on here, but it was 4 yrs old, so I thought i'd post new.

Background, 50 yr old house with 50 yr old furnace (no AC), forced air fueled by natural gas. Want to upgrade to something a little newer, with AC.

A Trane dealer with a good rep came up with this:
XV95 furnace - 2 stg 80K BTU
XLi15 AC - 2.5 ton
coil - 3 ton Aspen
t-stat - T-Con 602/900
mod ductwork to fit

Is this a reasonable combination ?
What would be a reasonable price?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-09, 11:10 AM
Is this a reasonable combination ?
Yes

What would be a reasonable price?
There is no way to answer that question. No one could give an accurate $ with out seeing the scope of work. Also, prices vary through out the country. Besides that, not all contractors get the same pricing from the distributors. Every contractor has a differant overhead,cost, and profit margin.

Focus on the contractor not the price. Hiring a good reputable contractor is the most important thing. I can tell you this, he won't be the cheapest.

Old 09-24-09, 12:37 PM
As long as the equipment is sized for the house and the ductwork can handle it, it should be alright. However...

The series # given doesn't match what you're provided though, the XV95 is a variable speed furnace, there are no stages per se. The XV90 is 2 stage at 92% efficient.

At 96% efficiency, you're getting 76k output. It seems a little big for having a 2.5 ton condenser but everybody has their own methods of sizing. Biggest problem I've had with new furnaces is that they really need to be sized properly or they don't run right. There are tolerances differences between the brands but over sizing a brand new furnace can be a pain if it goes off on high limit all the time.