Xe1000 runs aux heat allmost all the time?

Old 10-19-09, 10:33 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Xe1000 runs aux heat allmost all the time?

Hi all, new to forum. We purchased a house about a year and a half ago. It has a somewhat hodgepodged Heat-pump system. I am no HVAC expert, but pretty familair with the R22 Freon cycle from a theoretical perspective and pretty good at electrical t/sing. The problem is that the Aux heating strips run almost all the time it is in heat mode. Shortly after moving in, I installed a White-Rodgers programmable t-stat. Everything ran fine. Towards the end of last summer, A/C quit. Quickly t/sed it and foudn the main relay was not pulling in. I changed the control board, as relay was not getting the signal to pull in. A/C worked fine from that point on. Everything seemed well, except I noticed all winter the aux heat always ran. This hit me hard when I got the first electricity bill! could not t/s cause I was gone so much last winter. Ran all summer in A/C mode great - no issues and plenty cold. Now that cooler temps on coming in, ran heat last night and it did the same exact thing. T/sed a little more and here is what I am seeing: 1. the compressor will kick on for a while on start-up, the lines get hot (large suction very hot, small h/p warm.) I can feel typical Heat-Pump heat coming out of the vent (have not probed it yet with w/a thermocouple, but will do so tonight.0 2. After about 5-10 minutes, the aux light comes on, the signal to the compressor (24 v on t-stat) is still present, but no compressor. Lines get cool, supplied air gets warm cause strip heat is working 3. Once temp is attained the t-stat will turn off the aux heat, but the airhandler fan continues to run. This cycle will go all night long with the outside (condensor) fan never shutting off. The t-stat is clearly sending the signal to run the strip, but not certain why - where does it get its signal from? Here is another potentially valuable piece of info