HELP.... got duped...need help.

Old 04-02-10, 09:25 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
HELP.... got duped...need help.

Newbie here. Don't laugh...well laugh if you want I guess. Late last year I had to replace my A/C unit outside. A friend of mine recommended getting a used unit from this guy to save money, Sounded good to me. Problem is, he replaced a 5 ton unit with a 3.5 ton unit. I did not know this until my A/C service came by to do our annual inspection. Now that it is finally warming up here in South Florida I notice that the unit is running forever to cool the house down. Here's my question. Can a 3.5 ton unit be somehow changed to a 5 ton unit or am I going to have to replace the whole darn thing again? Remember......I said not to laugh. I'm not an electrician or an A/C guy. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Tom

Old 04-03-10, 05:32 AM
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Not laughing, Yes you will need to replace outside and inside.

Old 04-03-10, 08:59 AM
Originally Posted by tom-in-florida
Clipped... Late last year I had to replace my A/C unit outside. A friend of mine recommended getting a used unit from this guy to save money, Sounded good to me.

Problem is, he replaced a 5 ton unit with a 3.5 ton unit. I did not know this until my A/C service came by to do our annual inspection.

Now that it is finally warming up here in South Florida I notice that the unit is running forever to cool the house down. Here's my question.

Can a 3.5 ton unit be somehow changed to a 5 ton unit or am I going to have to replace the whole darn thing again? Remember......I said not to laugh. I'm not an electrician or an A/C guy. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Tom
Did he replace the indoor coil with a lower tonnage coil?

With a 3.5 to 5-ton Thermostatic Expansion Valve metering device & 1400-CFM of airflow, the 3.5-Ton might work. PROVIDING...