Are new RF lines necessary?


  #1  
Old 05-12-10, 12:47 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Are new RF lines necessary?

Hi,
I am replacing a 25 year old central air system. One contractor said that the refrigerant lines should be replaced (rather than blown out) so that no old refrigerant gets into the new system.

The other contractor said that blowing them out works perfectly fine. Who is right? The original lines run through the slab.

Thanks,

JD
 
  #2  
Old 05-12-10, 05:53 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
If the old lines are the size that is recommended they can be reused. If the old unit died of a bad compressor they should be replaced. New would be the best option.
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-10, 06:18 PM
Jarredsdad's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Troy, VA
Posts: 1,392
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think you should either find someone to cut open the slab and reseal after the new linset is leak tested or find an alternate route for it.

Change the line set, the old one is probably the wrong size.

The "just blow it out" needs to be told to find another sucker.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-10, 02:21 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jarredsdad
I think you should either find someone to cut open the slab and reseal after the new linset is leak tested or find an alternate route for it.

Change the line set, the old one is probably the wrong size.

The "just blow it out" needs to be told to find another sucker.
Thank you for your reply.
JD
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: