Miller M1M , blower not working


  #1  
Old 05-26-10, 02:50 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Miller M1M , blower not working

Here is what i know about this issue-
Turned on air for first time since last year
Outside compressor and fan run fine
Coils inside get cold
Blower will not activate in auto or run position
Tested for votage-No power being rec'd at blower motor
Removed board and do not see any signs of damage/burning
Blower does work for furnace-however only in the automatic position

any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 05-26-10, 07:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Do you get 24VAC between C and G with fan demand?
Does the fan start when you jumper R to G?
Is the furnace door switch depressed when you are testing?
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-10, 08:15 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you get 24VAC between C and G with fan demand?
Does the fan start when you jumper R to G?
Is the furnace door switch depressed when you are testing?


There is no furnace door switch. Furnace runs fine with door open.
Putting fan selector in RUN mode and unplugging wires from c and g gets 2 to 3 volts across terminals.
Putting fan in run mode,disconnecting wires from r and g, and then jumping the 2 terimals does not start the fan.
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-10, 09:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Sounds like a bad board.
Is it the board pictured first?

Nordyne Furnace Control Board 903106,624591-A,624591-B, 624591-D, JHL

Will the motor run if you remove the wire from "Cool" and supply power from L1? (I'd use a Y connector to get temporary operation untill the board can be replaced)
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-10, 03:55 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The replacement board would be a 903429(not the one pictured). I will have to look for and try the the L1 connection when i get home later today. Will let you know. Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-10, 01:11 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
splitting off L1 to cool does not start the blower.
 
  #7  
Old 05-27-10, 02:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I should preface this with we just bought the house in october and have not used the AC before. Although the inspector supposedly check it out,
Anyway, i think i just found the problem. This is a single speed fan. Checked the schematic on the back of the control panel lid and it shows the heat and cool should be jumpered together. I guess i now know why there was a jumper wire laying in the box. Put the jumper wire on and the blower started right up in the "fan on" positon for the heat and cool.
Thanks for your ideas without them i probably would not have persued repairing it myself.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: