Carrier Electric Furnace / outside unit loud noise , fan not running


  #1  
Old 06-01-10, 01:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: us
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier Electric Furnace / outside unit loud noise , fan not running

hi there .
not sure if I can explain my problem correctly.
I have carrier electric unit inside house / and outside unit doesnt say carrier on it but heres model 213RNA024-B
has GE motor with some numbers on it. 5kcp39BG y542S
CPN: HC33GE246A

I installed new programable stat . as old one was ripped out there was no indications on how and where each wire goes.

so I checked inside unit what goes where. and wired it acording manual .


heat worked perfect / so did ac for few days.

and today it was blowing room temp air
I noticed strang electrical buzz loud noise outside I looked fan wasn't spinning .

I shout system off tried it again same noise like fan trys to kick in but it wont.


I tried pushing fan and it slowly started to spin while that buzz noise comes on once every 10 min or so. but doesnt look like fan regaining FULL RPM speed as it used too.


can anyone help me with this please ?


thank you very much in advance !
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-10, 04:14 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: us
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just checked looks like loud buzz coming from compressor

anyone?
 
  #3  
Old 06-01-10, 07:34 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,539
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
The dual capacitor located in your outdoor unit should not appear swollen on top...
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-10, 02:40 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well he means that the capacitor when puffed up like that is useless and needs a new one, but it doesnt always have to be puffed up for it to be bad. but it is a lot cheaper to replace than the condenser fan motor, which is what you will have to do if a new capacitor does not work.
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-10, 04:44 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: us
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hi everyone. thanks for the help!
I called hvac guy just to do check up just in case I'm missing something. he confirmed that it might be capacitor and today he'll bring new one . I'll update outcome
thank you again
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-10, 06:07 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: us
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey everyone..
old capacitor looked normal ! but it did go out! once I replaced it . it worked perfect ..

thanks for the help!Beer 4U2
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: