Heat Pump question


  #1  
Old 06-04-10, 11:41 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Heat Pump question

I have a Janitrol (Goodman) 2.5 ton heat pump that is all self-contained in the outside unit. When in cooling mode the inside fan of the unit runs constantly, even when the condenser and condenser fan isn't running. Is it normal for this circulating fan to run all the time? I was thinking it was only supposed to run when the thermostat called for it to kick on. Can someone explain? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 06-04-10, 02:45 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Is the fan switch in on or auto?
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-10, 08:03 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thermostat fan switch is on "Auto" at all times.
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-10, 06:38 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Did this problem recently start (might indicate a short or bad relay), or has your unit done this since you moved in (might also indicate a wiring issue)?
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-10, 08:46 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Houston204
Did this problem recently start (might indicate a short or bad relay), or has your unit done this since you moved in (might also indicate a wiring issue)?
Sorry I've been away so long...but I found out what was going on. I had a leak and all the refrigerant had leaked out, so I guess it was trying to satisfy the thermostat by constantly running. I don't really know much about, but this is what an HVAC guy told me.

But now I have a new problem. It is now November and in Heating mode, and when the thermostat is on "Heat" the house gets colder, so I have use it in "Emergency Heat" to warm the house. I have called someone to come look at it but they haven't had time to get here yet. I'm thinking I should have invested in a better quality heat pump in the first place.
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-10, 09:28 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You probably lost all of your refrigerant again, might be a pretty good size leak.
How old is this unit?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: