York Air conditioning


  #1  
Old 06-07-10, 05:56 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
York Air conditioning

First off, hello to everyone. I know nothing when it comes to HVAC so bear with me please.
I have a York air conditioning unit outside and the fan wasn't running. I opened it up and noticed couple motor wires were unhooked from their terminals.
I have no idea where they go. I have taken a couple of pictures hoping that someone will tell me where to plug them back in. The fan motor wire are purple, brown and black. Both brown and purple wires are unplugged except for the black wire.





Please help.
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 06-08-10 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Typo fix.
  #2  
Old 06-07-10, 06:53 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
anyone please? I cant afford a tech right now.
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-10, 09:30 AM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 704
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Did this system work satsfactorily when you last used it? Its highly unlikely for two spade connected wires to come unhooked on their own. I wonder if there were problems with your unit and someone left the wires unhooked to keep it from operating, rather than repair it?

Is there a wiring diagram on the back of the access panel?
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-10, 02:32 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,173
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I see brown and a purple wires that are disconnected. But your photos don't go low enough to see where they are coming from.

The capacitor in the upper right seems to have one terminal that isn't connected to anything.

And there is a transformer that doesn't seem to be hooked up at all. I would guess it's a 24-V control transformer, but I can't figure out why it's mounted outdoors.

This is a bit of a rat's nest. I think you're going to have to call somebody experienced to sort it out.
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-10, 07:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
The fan motor black connects to one side of the contactor. (Which I believe is already connected)

The purple connects to the top right cap (along with the black wire that is there). This black should connect to the other leg of your contactor.

The fan motor brown connects on the unused side of the cap on the right.

Verify that your black and violet do indeed connect to opposite legs of your contactor before energizing anything.
(Black may be on the hot side of the contactor)



 
  #6  
Old 06-07-10, 08:47 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Your leads appear short. Be careful to insure that they do not come off again.
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-10, 10:37 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,830
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
I have never heard of having the control transformer in the outdoor unit.

--------------------------------------
You are dealing with potentially hazardous voltages (even with the power off, it's possible to get shocked by one of the capacitors); if you don't know much about electrical, it's time to call a technician.
 
  #8  
Old 06-08-10, 04:26 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
They still make many thermostats with RH & RC terminals.
 
  #9  
Old 06-08-10, 07:22 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,830
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
...I know. - furnaces with fan centers (separate relay for heating) still need them.
 
  #10  
Old 06-08-10, 07:28 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Looks like this one is not in use.

I really don't like 2 transformer systems. I've seen contactors chatter without the second transformer on old systems before.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: