AC Condenser Fan motor replaced...still can't get it working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-10, 10:21 AM
June's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC Condenser Fan motor replaced...still can't get it working

About mid last week our AC condenser fan gave us a squeeking warning that it was planing to fail eventually. Three days later I came home to a warm house and the fan was not working. When I turned on the AC at the thermostat I could hear the compressor kick on but the fan was not moving.

We'll after taking the unit apart I confirmed the fan motor had seized. I picked up a universal unit yesterday which I had no problem mounting up but then my problems started.

The original fan unit had three wire..One blue wire going to the small power panel, and an orange and brown wire going to the capacitor. The motor place spliced the original wires on the new motor for me which was a big help.

I believe I hooked up the wires correctly but I may not have. I tried a couple different ways but nothing was working.

When I turn the main power one to the unit from the fuse box the fan actually turns on and runs at a low speed. When I turn the AC on at the thermostat I get nothing. I don't even hear the condenser motor kick on.

I gave up and I believe I may need to replace the capacitor with a new one and this was suggested by the guy at the store where I bought the new fan but they did not carry an dual start capacitors.

Any help on where to start would be appreciated. Thanks.

June

What's the best way to go about testing the capacitor to see if it is Ok. It's not swollen or anything like that. THe one problem is that is it pretty rusty and there are no marking on it at all.
Anyways
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-10, 06:02 PM
June's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's fixed. My brother in law came over and after 4 beers he figured it out. Come to find out I was plugging in the main power wire on the wrong post on the terminal. So were back in business, hopefully I can squeeze a few more years out of this old unit.

Next time I take something apart I'll be smart enough to tag everything or at least make a diagram.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-10, 06:47 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how many wires does new motor have? is the motor 208/230 volts? is the rpm the same? ok nvm shoulda read that post too
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: