AC Capacitor & blower issue???


  #1  
Old 06-08-10, 03:43 PM
Sriracha_Boi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC Capacitor & blower issue???

I recently had my unit recharged because I have a leak but luckily its not too bad and usually lasts about a year, anyway after we had that done the HVAC tech recommend that we replace the capacitor because it was weak for $96 + labor.

We decided not to have that done and left it @ that, after about two weeks of the unit working; it stopped working. I bought a new capacitor and installed it, and the outside unit started working again but still the blower in the attic would not turn on. When the condenser clicks on then the blower (I think) tries to turn on but it just has a low hum and no air comes out.

I'm trying to figure out what the problem can be, because I'm in Texas and yesterday it was about 95 degrees outside.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-10, 06:21 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,539
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
Turn off power to the furnace...
Does the blower motor feel hot?
Does it spin freely with power removed?
You may need to replace the capacitor for the indoor fan motor.


The indoor fan motor has a capacitor which is usually strapped to the blower.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-10, 10:14 PM
Sriracha_Boi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've yet been able to open up the AC unit or the blower, the pic below shows the unit in a vertical position where my unit is horizontal. But looking at it there's only one side that can be unscrewed. So looks like I'll be doing that tomorrow. But the box for the blower is fully enclosed in chrome tape, should I remove it to find the screws to gain access to the blower?

 
  #4  
Old 06-10-10, 05:50 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,539
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
You usually have to remove the burner panel before the blower panel will come off. Only one of the panels has screws on most units.

Duct tape looks alot cleaner on service panels since they must be removed regulerly.
Foil tape get messy over the years.
 
  #5  
Old 06-10-10, 06:12 AM
Sriracha_Boi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well my unit is electrical, don't know if that makes a differnce on gaining access to the blower/capacitor.
 
  #6  
Old 06-11-10, 09:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,539
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
More screws and turning off power may require finding the breaker(s).
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-10, 04:36 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Regarding your blower fan capacitor....

I am experiencing a similar problem. I have a Lennox G24 Elite series...Gas HVAC unit. AC compressor runs but no blower fan. Tested blower fan capacitor and it showed bad...no resistance. Replaced it and still no go. I have checked all wires from thermostat and they are all correct, the single LED red light control module is slow flashing which according to the door plate info means Normal Operation. But it will not start. I have bypassed and hot-wired the blower motor and it works but can't get it to function when back in unit. I had one hinky reading on the Green line in thermostat...so I figured I would try a new thermostat (and upgrade to a programmable)...but still nothing. does this sound like the control module or what?
 
  #8  
Old 06-16-10, 09:20 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 997
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by juswillit View Post
I am experiencing a similar problem. I have a Lennox G24 Elite series...Gas HVAC unit. AC compressor runs but no blower fan. Tested blower fan capacitor and it showed bad...no resistance. Replaced it and still no go. I have checked all wires from thermostat and they are all correct, the single LED red light control module is slow flashing which according to the door plate info means Normal Operation. But it will not start. I have bypassed and hot-wired the blower motor and it works but can't get it to function when back in unit. I had one hinky reading on the Green line in thermostat...so I figured I would try a new thermostat (and upgrade to a programmable)...but still nothing. does this sound like the control module or what?
'I' am no a/c guy by any means!
but i am pretty sure the thermostat(low voltage) circuit -only sends a(voltage) request to a 'relay' (on the fan/ air handler) housing/box!
that actually supplys power to the blower motor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: