need help figuring how they order fan blades for specific motors.

Old 06-26-10, 04:40 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down need help figuring how they order fan blades for specific motors.

I am an electrician and I have a customer that had a ac outside condensor fan blade rust off his motor. The motor is no good as well. I need to order a new motor and a new fan to match the old motor. How do i measure the fan to order it? The motor is a Fasco d1701 motor and the unit is a weird unit used for an indoor pool room. If you can e mail me at [email protected]

Sponsored Links
Old 06-26-10, 06:49 PM
Blades...

Well can you contact the manufacturer? You can also get what is left of the blades and try to piece it together to get pitch and circumference and whether it is CW or CCW rotation. If not you will have to just measure the opening to get circumference. If it is a condensing unit it will have airflow coming out the top with air entering through the condenser and out the top. You can get a CW blade if the motor you are replacing is CW rotation.
CCW if it is oppisite. The trick part is the pitch of the blades. The more pitch the more airflow; thus more amperage draw on motor; and if too much or too little ariflow your pressures won't be right. That's why I said to see if you can tell anything from what is left of the blade that come off of it.
Worst case you will have to get a blade that fits in the opening without hitting shroud around 1" room and the right rotation for the motor. If you can only get one rotation you can just change motor rotation. You will have to guess the pitch start with 22 degrees and see how that works. Hopefully the supply house will understand your dilema and let you exchange it for a different pitch. Like I said the pitch will be the bugger to figure out but if you have some of the old blade you can take it to them and the can get the pitch.
Later, Martyl.

Old 06-26-10, 08:06 PM