New Trane system only providing 10 split

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-10, 04:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question New Trane system only providing 10 split

I had my home's HVAC system replaced in June of 2007. I'm not very knowledgeable about this stuff, but I know something hasn't been right since the install. I'm in Tampa, Florida and the weather here can get quite hot and humid. However, even with my relatively new home (1,540 sq. ft., single story, built in 1998), the new system cannot keep the house at the set temp of 79F. It has failed to do so since being installed.

We've since added heat reflecting/absorbing film to the South and West windows as well as replaced the sliding glass doors (West facing) with insulated french doors. These two things have *kinda* helped, but the cooling system is still struggling badly.

During warmer parts of the day (outside temp 89-94F), the inside temp usually hovers between 81 and 82. Again, the t-stat is set to 79.

I've done my best to measure the important temps. The farthest vent from the unit is providing 72 cool air. The main supply vent registers 82 to 83. I know from my research that the split should be much closer to 16 to 18, correct?

The inside of the home doesn't feel too bad, though. My indoor humidity is registering at 40-44%.

I'm inclined to call another dealer to check the system as I'm sure the installers haven't done this correctly. The particulars from the invoice are:

Model 4TTX603B1OOOOA
Model TUD80R9V4K
Model 4TXCB036BC3HCA

What other information can I supply that would help diagnose this problem? Any suggestions on what to do next would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 07-08-10, 07:54 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Have you called the dealer? Is this a two stage unit?
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-10, 08:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by airman.1994 View Post
Have you called the dealer? Is this a two stage unit?
The company that installed the AC has been back between 2-4 times every summer since the unit was installed.

Yes, it is a two-stage unit.
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-10, 08:59 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,498
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
When you hand touch the outside pipes near the condenser. Is the big one cold and sweaty ? Is the small one feels a little warm, but not too warm ?
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-10, 09:15 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by clocert View Post
When you hand touch the outside pipes near the condenser. Is the big one cold and sweaty ? Is the small one feels a little warm, but not too warm ?
I'll find out tomorrow and post here.
 
  #6  
Old 07-08-10, 09:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some additional information:

The cold air coming from the vents was at 71 today with the sun out. As the sun went down, so did the temperature coming out of the AC.

70 at sundown
69 at 8:35 PM
68 at 9:14 PM
67 at 9:55 PM
66 at 10:30 PM
65 at 11:15 PM
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-10, 01:45 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
could have a leak in the freon lines or evap coil, could have an air leak if the system if in an attic, or could be defective coil/condenser. or maybe its because you have a 5 ton condenser with a 3 ton coil??? if im reading this right. is the 4ttx60 the outdoor unit/condenser? and is the 4txcb036 the evap coil? if so thats way off, you should have been given a 5 ton evap coil atleast!!! way way off
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-10, 02:46 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ender2272 View Post
or maybe its because you have a 5 ton condenser with a 3 ton coil??? if im reading this right. is the 4ttx60 the outdoor unit/condenser? and is the 4txcb036 the evap coil? if so thats way off, you should have been given a 5 ton evap coil atleast!!! way way off
4TTX60 = 2 Stage Condensing Unit
4TXCB036 = Cased Coil

(according to invoice)
 
  #9  
Old 07-09-10, 03:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From what I've read, the XL16i is a 3 ton unit, not 5.

EDIT: Sorry. Just realized they come in different configurations. My bad.
 
  #10  
Old 07-11-10, 10:06 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well im not sure if its a 3 ton or 5 now, can u find out for sure?
 
  #11  
Old 07-11-10, 04:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ender2272 View Post
well im not sure if its a 3 ton or 5 now, can u find out for sure?
It is a three ton, according to what I've seen on the Trane website.
 
  #12  
Old 07-13-10, 11:36 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Follow up

I had a different company (other than the install company) come out today and give me an estimate on what is needed and what was wrong. Here is their writeup:

"Found several problems. The TXV is defective causing head pressure to be 550 PSI and suction at 145. The furnace is a 4 ton 15 seer gas furnace, the coil is not configured correctly to access TXV, coil, or drain. Static pressure in duct is above .37. System needs a new TXV, new Trane TUD80R9V3K gas furnace to match 3 ton and 16 SEER."

Their estimate to fix the above problems is $2,800.

Thoughts?
 
  #13  
Old 07-13-10, 07:11 PM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 713
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the split should be much closer to 16 to 18
The inside of the home doesn't feel too bad, though. My indoor humidity is registering at 40-44%.
With an indoor humidity of 40 to 44% & airflow of 400-CFM per ton of cooling or 1200-CFM, the temp-split taken close to the coil should be around 18 to 20-F, NOT 10-F.

Search: charging using superheat & subcooling

Click first hit & follow linked pages...

Could be a number of problems...
 
  #14  
Old 07-13-10, 07:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Read my last entry (just above your post). It outlines the problems found by an installer different than the one that did my job.
 
  #15  
Old 07-14-10, 03:42 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your HVAC system is three years old, and they say it needs to be replaced? What kind of a warranty does your current system have?

This doesn't sound quite right here.
 
  #16  
Old 07-14-10, 07:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Mike Speed 30 View Post
Your HVAC system is three years old, and they say it needs to be replaced? What kind of a warranty does your current system have?

This doesn't sound quite right here.
No, they aren't saying it needs to be replaced so much as it's the wrong unit for the system. They're indicating that it being a 4 ton 15 SEER unit makes it a mismatch for my 3 ton 16 SEER system. Since they aren't the ones that installed it, they indicate a full replacement price for the swap out. If I convince the original installers that in fact it *is* a mismatch, they'll have to replace it free of charge.
 
  #17  
Old 07-16-10, 06:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK - the company that did the original installation came out and verified the same things the secondary company did. They also said the TXV was damaged and that the coil was not installed in the correct position (with the access panel facing out).

They have ordered a new coil and TXV and will be installing them both free of charge once they arrive.
 
  #18  
Old 07-18-10, 06:22 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, is the t-stat wire hooked up right being it's an XL16 system.

They should have BK wired up at the furnace.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: