Heil Central Air

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-10-10, 03:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Heil Central Air

I have a Heil Central heater/ac The air that is blowing out of the vents is very low. As I live in Palmdale ca. it get very hot. I just bought this house approx. 2 months ago and its time to turn on the ac.. The air coming out is cold, but not strong enough to cool the house. Any ideas?


Thanks..
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-10, 03:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I removed the filter from the bottom of the heater just below the blower, which was dirty, but the air flow is still very low. No improvement.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-10, 04:07 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The blower motor may be a multi-speed type. If so, it's customary for the highest speed to be used for A/C and either low or medium for heat. There should be a wiring diagram pasted inside the furnace or on the motor itself.
 
  #4  
Old 07-10-10, 04:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I change the speed or is that all auto? The thermostat is a Honeywell..
 
  #5  
Old 07-10-10, 04:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found two wiring panels one above the where the heater /gas supply is which has honeywell stamped on it and the other in front of the blower.
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-10, 07:29 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by bheppy67 View Post
How do I change the speed or is that all auto?
First, have you determined whether the blower motor is multi-speed? If it's not multi-speed, then you're stuck - at least with that particular motor.

If it is multi-speed, there will be several wires coming out of the motor and there should be a wiring diagram showing what connections to make for the individual speeds. When the thermostat is on A/C, the hi-speed winding should be energized.

Posting photos might help us visualize your installation.
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-10, 09:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it is a multi speed blower.. I see the wiring diagram, which shows (ww com) (bk HI), (BL MH) (R ML) (O LO). I will take pictures of the Wiring Diagram and blower and attach.

Thanks
 

Last edited by bheppy67; 07-10-10 at 10:20 PM.
  #8  
Old 07-11-10, 09:36 AM
Former Member's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: US
Posts: 786
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Might want to also check that ductwork for significant leaks and closed dampers etc. I would also suggest to clean the evaporator coil whether it looks like it needs it or not, you do not want to try to increase airflow pulling through a dirty coil you might burn your motor up.
 
  #9  
Old 07-11-10, 10:18 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heil central air photos










 
  #10  
Old 07-14-10, 05:22 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heil central air photos

These are photos of my central air unit that is wired on low speed. According to the wiring diagram in the picture this is a multi speed unit. Can anyone help..

Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 07-14-10, 06:21 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would rewire it for hi-speed with A/C.
 
  #12  
Old 07-14-10, 06:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which wires

The question is how? which wires.. Can you tell from the pictures?


Thank
 
  #13  
Old 07-15-10, 10:15 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Examine the wiring diagram, namely the 120-V connections inside the control box. Is the 120-V violet wire from the fan relay (Terminal 3) going to the HI-speed blower connection? If not, make it so.

Where is the 120-V yellow wire connected (to which fan speed terminal)?
 

Last edited by Mike Speed 30; 07-15-10 at 11:51 AM.
  #14  
Old 07-15-10, 07:00 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wires out of Blower motor

[Not sure which is the fan relay hope pictures help if not I can retake of expain in more detail.. I hope

Thanks for you help...][/QUOTE]
 
  #15  
Old 07-16-10, 09:07 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're not there yet. Remove the cover from the metal box shown in the photo - the one that has the panel interlock switch.

Shut off power - the 120-v wiring is inside the box. That is the wiring you want to check. Refer to the wiring diagram, and all will become clear.

Forget the thermostat wiring and low-voltage control wiring for the time being.
 

Last edited by Mike Speed 30; 07-16-10 at 10:28 AM.
  #16  
Old 07-16-10, 07:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heil central air

Okay Mike I see what you are saying... What I found was the Violet wire going to the black wire / Hi speed / terminal 3, so that was setup right.. I also found the yellow wire connected to the low speed / terminal 5. Per the diagram is says yellow wire medium High / terminal 5, which I changed too.. I still don't feel any change to the output.

Is there anything else I can check?

Thanks
 
  #17  
Old 07-17-10, 08:16 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pull out the filter and see if it's clogged. Wash the evaporator coils. Check for closed dampers.
 
  #18  
Old 07-17-10, 08:59 AM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 713
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The evaporator coil & fins may be plugged with lint.
In that case a higher blower speed will simply cause most older blowers to unload.
Also, clean the lint from blower wheel blade grooves!

After cleaning the cooling coil, check the CFM airflow rate & try to get 400-CFM per-ton of cooling.
 

Last edited by HVAC RETIRED; 07-17-10 at 09:02 AM. Reason: clean the lint from blower wheel blade groove...
  #19  
Old 07-17-10, 01:05 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,498
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
What kind of tools/meter that provide CFM airflow measurement ? Are they expensive ? As a DIY home owner, is there a easy way to measure the airflow ? Thanks.
 

Last edited by clocert; 07-17-10 at 02:03 PM.
  #20  
Old 07-17-10, 02:40 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by clocert View Post
What kind of tools/meter that provide CFM airflow measurement ?
I use a Dwyer No. 460 air meter -it's been around for years. That gives air velocity, ft/min - multiply by duct area to get CFM.

Dwyer Instruments - Model 460
 

Last edited by Mike Speed 30; 07-17-10 at 05:02 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: