Over charged or What!

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-11, 07:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Over charged or What!

I have 3 ton carrier AC infinity unit ( model # 25Hna636a300) which I bought and in process of having it installed. the tech says it takes 9lbs of 410r puron, and cost $30 a lb. This was after he intalled it and we already agreed on price for intallation 2 days ago, now says I have to pay for the puron seperately. this just dont sound right, especially after I read a post on a site (Hvac-talk.com) that said the 410r should cost $10 a lb. and even that is over charging.
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-11, 08:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,935
Received 292 Votes on 254 Posts
He gave you a price that you agreed to. Unless the contract says that Puron is extra, tell him you will not pay extra for the charge. If he gets mad tell him to take a hike and find somebody else to finish.

Not a HVAC pro but doesn't the condenser already have a charge in it for up to 25' of lineset?
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-11, 06:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,786
Received 99 Votes on 89 Posts
It seems to me the installation isn't complete till the unit is charged. You have to make your decision based upon what you discussed, no one from this board was there. I don't suppose this guy is a contractor and gave a written proposal stating what was included? In the end, you control the purse strings unless you have already paid him.
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-11, 07:05 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
regardless of price because we are not here to discuss price....... Unit comes precharged with refrigerant for up to 25' of lineset unless you bought a used unit?! So, how long is your lineset, was the unit new? Find the installation manual for the unit. Check the data plate on the unit which states the charge the unit comes with.
 
  #5  
Old 06-23-11, 06:22 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes!!! the new R410(puron) units come precharged so all the puron you would need is to fill the lines. this guy is trying to rip you off!!!
 
  #6  
Old 06-23-11, 06:45 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Well...rusty hasn't replied to anything...so I guess we'll just have to wait and see.
 
  #7  
Old 06-27-11, 06:30 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,076
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
especially after I read a post on a site (Hvac-talk.com) that said the 410r should cost $10 a lb. and even that is over charging.
I don't think he will find a contractor to sell him 410a at $10/lb

I suspect the unit is used and sold without refrigerant.

If OP is complaining about refrigerant price, I don't think he will pay for a quality install.

I suspect OP is using unlicensed help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: