Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Air Conditioning and Cooling Systems
Reload this Page >

A/C motor sounds like it's running at times, but no air pushing through vents?

Old 07-01-11, 08:25 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

OK, I hope I can describe this well enough; my a/c runs great, but from time to time I'll hear the motor (or something up there, it's a roof mount) running long after the air has stopped blowing. I cannot stop it any other way than to flip the breaker off, wait a minute or two, then turn it back on and it stops. This unit was just serviced and I forgot to tell the guy about it, was actually thinking the service would stop it.

Could this be a contactor sticking and causing the motor to continuously run or ?? Any advice is appreciated, I'm not a mechanical guy and would hate to pay the a/c guy to come out again for something simple.

Old 07-01-11, 08:52 AM
C
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
You need to go up there with a multi-meter and check to see (the contactor) why the power is not cut off.

Old 07-20-11, 08:00 AM
I'm not very mechanically inclined...would the contactor be right up inside the panel, and if it reads proper voltage, what is my next step? Not able to pay a HVAC guy at this time, and would love to be able to resolve this myself. I do have a multimeter and know how to use it, but beyond that, wouldn't know much about swapping out a contactor!

Any other ideas if the contactor is ok? I've heard they "stick" at times, how would I check/resolve that??

Old 07-20-11, 08:20 AM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Is your roof-mount AC unit an all-in-one package unit with the evaporator coil and blower in the same housing as the condensing unit, or do you have a roof mounted condensing unit and a separate air handler mounted in your attic or closet?

Old 07-20-11, 08:30 AM
Alll in one on roof, nothing in the closet or attic

Old 07-20-11, 10:10 AM
C