Goodman CKL36-1K A/C Unit not turning on

Old 07-05-11, 09:58 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman CKL36-1K A/C Unit not turning on

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, and I was wondering if I might be able to get some professional opinions as to what's going on with my A/C unit.

I've got a Goodman CKL36-1K unit. When the thermostat is set to 'cool', the thermostat clicks, and the contactor on the unit outside engages, causing a slight humming sound from the unit...not the condenser unit humming, just the sound of power being supplied to the unit. The fan does not spin when the unit is turned on, and the compressor doesn't kick on, however the lid to the unit where the fan is mounted becomes VERY hot to the touch. I disconnected the power to the unit via the breaker, and pulled the lid off of the unit to see if the motor would turn, which it does, freely. The unit is 7 years old, and was working fine until all of a sudden it just didn't turn on one day. We have two of the same units, one for each zone in the house, and had to have a tech replace the condenser fan motor on the other last year for $700, so I'm trying to do this repair myself. I'm very handy, and have most tools required to diagnose electrical issues, but no coolant pressure testers, or any HVAC specific tools.

I've been told that it could ether be the motor or the capacitor, or both. I'd like to know if anyone might be able to shed some more light on this for me so that I don't go throwing money at this.

Thank you all in advance for your time and effort!

Sincerely,

-Brian

Old 07-06-11, 05:14 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
most likely you have a swelled or exploded dual run capacitor. Open the electrical compartment and find the capacitor.

Old 07-06-11, 07:29 AM
T
Thanks for the quick reply!

I've pulled the pannel, and the cap isn't swolen at all. Everything. Loooks really good, actually. Still most likely the cap?

Old 07-06-11, 04:08 PM