Suddenly not-so-cool air

Old 07-18-11, 03:39 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Suddenly not-so-cool air

Self-proclaimed noob here...I can barely spell "A/C" much less begin to figure out what's wrong with my system. But here goes...

First, the details:

2 story house - built (and system installed) 2005 - each floor on it's own thermostat with separate condensers and air handlers. Both thermostats set at 76 degrees day, 78 degrees night. Is a modular home, so everything came as a "package deal".

1st floor: approx 1800sf (includes accessory apartment)
Condenser: HEIL model NAC036AKC3 - 10 SEER - I think the installer told me it was 3.5 ton, but not really sure.
Air handler: International Comfort Products model EBP3600B2 - in basement

2nd floor: approx 1200sf
Condenser: HEIL model E042048662 - 10 SEER - I think the installer said it's 2 ton, but again, my memory's a little fuzzy.
Air handler: It's in the attic, so I'm not sure of the details, but I'm presuming it's the same brand as 1st floor.

Problem is with the 1st floor: has worked fine up until this morning. Air flow feels normal, however, air temp feels approx ambient temp - not the "cool" air that I'm used to feeling.

Filter is clean, evap coil appears clean.

Having read other threads on this forum, I went outside and felt the copper lines at the condenser. Both feel approx the same temp - not the noticeable difference I believe I'm supposed to feel (and I did feel at the 2nd floor condenser).

1. Is this what's referred to as a "split" system?
2. I've read about "capacitor reset" buttons - do these have one?
3. Anything else I can check before I bite the bullet and drop $200 on a service call (yes, I'm cheap...very cheap.)

Nonetheless, I've saved beaucoup bucks fixing stuff with knowledge gained from this forum - where safe and proper. I'm aware that HVAC certainly has less opportunities for us DIYer's, but I thought I'd reach out to you anyway.

Thanx! in advance for any guidance.

Wally