Cigarette Smoke Smell

Old 08-02-11, 09:26 AM
H
Received 8 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Cigarette Smoke Smell

Not sure which forum to post in, but I'll try here. I work as a handyman in retirement and have a customer in a condo who smokes. Neighbors in adjoining units are complaining of the smell getting into their condos. I believe that each unit has its own self-contained forced air furnace and A/C. I plan to seal pipe and wire penetrations with urethane foam, but my customer is asking about a charcoal filter in the HVAC system. I have never heard of this. Does it exist? If it does, it might make sense to install these in the condos being offended as well as the offender. Thanks for any help out there.

Old 08-02-11, 09:46 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Yes, it does exist, but my experience is that filter does not help at all.

Old 08-02-11, 09:51 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,280 Upvotes on 1,218 Posts
The bottom line is air is moving from your customer's condo into the others and you seem to grasp that and be on top of it.

I don't think any kind of filter is going to make much, if any, difference in this situation.

Old 08-02-11, 01:04 PM
H
Thanks for the Replies

I examined the unit today and I think the complainant is wrong. I did verify that each unit has its own forced air system, with only 3 of 12 having A/C. There is no air circulation connection between units and further, the complainant is on the other side of a firewall from the smoker. The smoker believes that she is the only one who admits to smoking, so she is the suspect. The smoker also told me that she has held incense next to one of her air returns to see if that prompted a complaint. It did not. Have I made my case counselor? Thanks to all. This is a great board.

Old 08-02-11, 01:34 PM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts