Will a T-stat fix my problems.

Old 08-26-11, 09:59 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Will a T-stat fix my problems.

I have a couple of HVAC issues and I am not sure if they are related. I think they may be through the T-stat, but then again, I am no expert.

Here is a quick rundown of my HVAC system. I have a 3 heatzones; 2 t-stats upstairs, 1 t-stat downstairs. The upstairs t-stats operate an airhandler in the attic and a condensing unit outside. The downstairs t-stat operates an airhandler in the basement and a separate condensing unit outside. All t-stats/heat zones run off the same oil boiler in the basement.

Problem 1: The attic airhandler NEVER shuts off. In order to turn it off I have to open the breaker.

Problem 2: The condesing unit for the upstairs does not always turn on automatically or by operating the switch regardless of interior temperature. Sometimes I have to cycle the switch several times to get the condensing unit to come on. Tonight I could not get it to come on at all.

Both problems involve the "upstairs" systems and the only common link I can think of is the t-stat, although there are 2 independent t-stats that should operate this air handler and condensing unit.

The t-stats are older, so I was thinking about replacing them with programmable t-stats because even if they don't fix the problem they should save me money over the winter. If any knowlegible folks could provide me some insight into my problems and recommend some good, inexpensive, programmable t-stats I would really appreciate it. I have posted a link to my current t-stats below.

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration,
Mike

American Air Systems - Robertshaw 9500

Old 08-27-11, 06:22 AM
E
do you have a zone board or just a damper or two?

Old 08-27-11, 05:27 PM
G