Help..I'm freezing :) problem with wiring new lux thermostat


  #1  
Old 11-05-11, 09:02 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help..I'm freezing :) problem with wiring new lux thermostat

We just purchased a lux TX1500e. Obviously we did something wrong because I am freezing..lol. confused as to some of the wires. The old honeywell has some different letters.
the honeywell
G green
O/b Orange
y1 yellow
w1 white
e black
c blue
r red

the lux has g, rh, rc, y, w, o, b, g

what do we do with the ones that don't match? the directions are lousy
electronics is neither one of our forte..
Thanks so much,
Jill
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-11, 06:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Take this stat back and get a REAL t-stat like Honeywell RTH7600 or RTH7500.

This stat is not a true heat pump stat.

What's wrong with the old stat?
 
  #3  
Old 11-06-11, 08:39 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
we wanted a programmable one. This one got decent reviews on Amazon & the price was right..Now I know why....
switched some wires & got the heat to come on but now it won't go off without turning the switch off...
May have to send it back
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-11, 02:48 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
that stat will not work with your system you need a 2H1C heat pump thermostat or a stat for a heat pump with auxiliary heat.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-11, 03:21 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
For heat pump system, you are not going to save any money using set back.. You are best to set it and forget it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: