New Honeywell with no heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-11, 07:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Honeywell with no heat

I just installed a Honeywell programmable thermostat, model RTH221B1021A. Now I have no heat.

I have 2 units, one for upstairs, one for downstairs. I only replaced the upstairs unit, so I can compare the two.

On my old unit, the wiring was as follows:

C = blue
Y1= yellow
G= green
O/B= orange
W2= white
R= red

On the new honeywell I have installed the wiring as follows:

O/B= Orange
Y= Yellow
R= Red
G= Green
W= White
(blue was not used according to the directions)


Please help, its getting colder as ya'll know.

Thanks,
John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-13-11, 09:19 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like you have a heat pump with backup (aux) heat. This thermostat will not work with such a system.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-11, 02:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Went out and bought a new thermostat for heat pump systems. I'll install it and let you know the results.

Thanks for the reply.

John
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: