compressor voltage

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-12, 06:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
compressor voltage

I have an Amanna AC 3 ton. Last night the disconnect melted the entire inside.
It was a disconnect with barrel fuses. I replaced the box and rewired it.
Turned the unit on and it ran fine. I checked the voltage from compressor and it was 19.
The unit calls for maximun of 16. Is this what caused the problem or was it just a bad disconnect?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-12, 07:43 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,124
Received 34 Votes on 32 Posts
Thumbs up Welcome to our forums!

Where did you measure the voltage and what type of meter are you using.

16 volts is not what you would expect to find in a central system.
220 or 24 volts ac would be what you expect.
16 volts would be for a doorbell cct.
 
  #3  
Old 04-03-12, 07:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Compressor voltage would be about 240v. The 16 and 19 you speak of doesn't make sense. Auxiliary voltage is 24v. So what do you mean by those numbers? The disconnect also would have 240v. Do you mean amps?
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-12, 06:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was amps that the compressor was pulling. Sorry I did not make myself clear
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-12, 08:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
3 amps isn't going to melt a disconnect. If residential why a fused disconnect on a residential installation? What size fuses?
 
  #6  
Old 04-04-12, 08:40 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ray...
My last house had a fused pull out disconnect (where the fuses are in the part you pulled out?) in addition to the breakers that were in the panel in the garage, and it was built in 1990. I would imagine that might be what Joe has?

Joe...
As to your amp reading.....19 isn't much off the spec. I'd guess that the unit is just getting old and drawing a bit more. Might want to clean up all the connections at the contactor and such.
 
  #7  
Old 04-04-12, 10:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray/Gunguy
This an upstairs unit. The breaker is upstairs.
I do not know why it had a fused disconnect. The 5 ton sitting right beside it has a non fused disconnect. I replaced the burnt one with a non fused one. I checked the connections and they all looked good.
 
  #8  
Old 04-04-12, 01:29 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Might want to consider putting in a hard start or booster to help the unit come on easier and prevent the compressor from stalling. And you might want to spray off the condenser with a hose, as it is probably dirty. Poor starting compressor + dirty condenser + low freon = Unit running a long time, which is what I imagine it did. Which caused everything to get really hot and melt. By the way there is nothing strange or wrong about having a fused disconnect in a residential home.
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-12, 06:53 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
a bad electrical connection could have made the disconnect "melt" I have seen it before.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: