discharging an AC capacitor


  #1  
Old 04-15-12, 08:11 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 235
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
discharging an AC capacitor

OK. I am trying to see if I can charge a capacitor for my AC (dual run 40/5 expected but actual is 29.4/4.8) because it cost so much to have it replaced.

One thing that is puzzling me is about discharging it.
most of the content I read is to use a screw driver and touch the terminal to discharge. based on my understanding of electricity, this doesn't make sense. If you have an insulated screwdriver and just touch one terminal, it won't even form a circuit. how does that release electricity?
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-12, 08:16 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
You touch between all the terminals. If it just has 2...it's easy, just bridge the two with the screwdriver blade. If it has more, just touch between 1 to 2, then 2 to 3, then 1 to 3, etc.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-12, 09:17 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
you would touch the metal screwdriver between any prong and another metal surface. or grab it with your hand when power is disconnected. it only hurts for a second
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-12, 12:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 235
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gunguy45. thank you for explanation. it makes sense now after you explain it.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-12, 11:08 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
"OK. I am trying to see if I can charge a capacitor for my AC (dual run 40/5 expected but actual is 29.4/4.8) because it cost so much to have it replaced.

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...#ixzz1sBHKCaOR
"

Charge or change?
 
  #6  
Old 04-18-12, 06:09 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 235
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a followup question. When I opened up AC, I actually saw 4 wires.
terminal C has two wires
terminal Herm has one
terminal FAN has one.

For HERM and FAN, it's easy. I just label them and put into FAN and HERM.

But for C, there are two wries. Does it matter the wire position for C terminal? I'm assuming not because they are on the same terminal and it really doesn't matter.
 
  #7  
Old 04-18-12, 06:23 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Correct...it doesn't matter....C=Common.
 
  #8  
Old 04-18-12, 06:32 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 235
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks for the quick reply.
 
  #9  
Old 04-18-12, 12:48 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 235
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The AC am trying to replace capacitor on also has a kick-off startig device for the capacitor. any advice on dealing with this?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: