bryant furnance fan motor short cycles every few seconds when calling for ac


  #1  
Old 05-28-12, 08:46 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
bryant furnance fan motor short cycles every few seconds when calling for ac

bryant air conditioner twenty years old and the blower in the furnance short cycles every few seconds, however if i put the fan on instead of automatic the system operates good, any suggestions. The motor is pulling about 5 amps. I put a new circuit board at the start of the heating system which worked good. Is the problem in T stat or somewhere else.


Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/pr...#ixzz1wE6zSyug
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-12, 11:10 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The fan "on" uses a different speed of the motor. Your motor is going bad, or atleast the one speed is kapooey, but you can still get some run time from the motor if you switch speeds on the circuit board. simply move the wire from the motor going to 'circ' and put it where 'cool' is. and the wire where cool is, cut the end off and forget about it.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-12, 10:31 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ac speed change

thanks, but the circuit board has one high and one med. Should I switch them out. There is only two wires and a common. Thanks in advance
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-12, 01:21 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes switch the speeds of course.
 

Last edited by hvactechfw; 05-29-12 at 06:41 PM. Reason: removed unnecessary comment.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: