Help locating ECM motor.

Old 06-23-12, 05:26 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Help locating ECM motor.

I've read many threads in this forum concerning ECM motors. Seems to be a fairly common problem. I'm no electrician, but when the a/c stopped working I investigated inside the air handler. The motor would not run in hand, pulled it out and discovered the circuit board in the end cap had 2 places burned up. Where does one go to find a replacement motor? The unit is a York, not sure of the model #. The motor is made by GE, model # 5SME39HL0331...1/2hp 1050rpm . I've found some similar motors online, but I'm not sure if they are interchangable. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Tom

Sponsored Links
Old 06-24-12, 02:17 PM
if it is an ECM motor (variable speed) with the removable programmable module on the end then you must get the module from York as it must programmed for your air handler. But just buying the module is usually cheaper than a whole motor with module. The trouble you will run into is finding a supply house that will sell it to you. You more than likely could find a YORK dealer that would sell it to you though.

Old 06-24-12, 03:51 PM
Thanks

I ran into this problem because the air handler no longer has a model number on it. Will the label(s) on the motor/module contain enough info to select the proper motor/module? There seems to be a GE and possibly a York label on the motor...

Old 06-24-12, 04:01 PM
that will make it difficult but call a dealer and see if they can help

Old 06-24-12, 04:32 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation