Circuit board and furnace where thermostat plugs to


  #1  
Old 06-24-12, 09:36 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Circuit board and furnace where thermostat plugs to

Hi,
We have a Frigidaire air conditioner, about 10 years old. As soon as it got warm (around May), we turned the air on. Now, our air conditioner works sporadically. Seems that if we "jiggle" the wires on the circuit board, then it starts to work. But it may not continously cycle.

Should we call someone to fix the circuit board? Does anyone know how much that usually runs? My husband is pretty handy and we also have a family member who works in HVAC, so we could probably have him install it also.

Would appreciate any advice
 
  #2  
Old 06-24-12, 10:52 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Basically, our unit kicks on when my husband moves the wires around. The fan comes on, but as soon as the condenser kicks on, our air turns off. We are under the impression, then, that the connection on the circuit board is faulty. We have ordered a new circuit board, next day shipping. Hopefully that solves the problem because we are looking at a week of hundred degree temps!

Does anyone have any other advice? Like I said, we are "hopeful" that it is the circuit board.

Thanks!
 
  #3  
Old 06-24-12, 01:58 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
tighten the connections would bea good start
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: