outside unit issues


  #1  
Old 07-05-12, 07:06 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outside unit issues

i have a 5 year old ducane outside unit,about 3 years into its service the capacitor(dual cap) died,i have buying ebay capacitors every 6 months or so for the last 2 years.yesterday it died again and i bought a new capacitor locally this morning and installed it,no go.if i understand correctly these capacitors run a motor in the unit,is it the fan motor or is there another motor i dont know about.without getting into specifics of the unit,can ya`ll give me some ideas on what to look at.thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-05-12, 07:20 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You need to test the capacitor to make sure it is a good one first. The dual run cap supports both fan and compressor.
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-12, 07:50 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
good idea,can you tell me how to do that?thanks
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-12, 07:59 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You need a multi-meter with capacitance function to do that, if not, you have to take it back or to an AC shop for help.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-12, 08:01 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i have it,just need instructions
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-12, 08:11 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Disconnect all wires from the capacitor, check uf between poles (com to fan)
and then (com to Herm) and see if you get the correct ufs.
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-12, 08:46 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
should my meter have a microfarad scale?
 
  #8  
Old 07-05-12, 08:50 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Depends on what kind of multi-meter you have, some do, some don't.
 
  #9  
Old 07-05-12, 08:54 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
both of mine dont,just have amps,volts and ohms
 
  #10  
Old 07-05-12, 09:04 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You can buy one around $40-$50. ac tool place or Amazon they all have it.
 
  #11  
Old 07-05-12, 09:10 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks ill do some looking and let you know what i find,appreciate the help
 
  #12  
Old 07-05-12, 01:14 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
a friend told me to put an amp clamp around the wires leading to the unit and put the thermostat super low like around 60 and read the amp draw,when i do this what should the amp draw be to indicate whether or not im pulling to many amps out of the unit?thanks
 
  #13  
Old 07-05-12, 04:30 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Amp draw can tell you if your fan motor and compressor are still in good shape, but that is not the way we test the capacitor. If a good run capacitor can not start your unit, and the amp draw is high, you may need a hard start kit. but one step a time. first, you need to get the unit up and running first. (there is a possibility you have other problems, not capacitor related)
 
  #14  
Old 07-05-12, 04:50 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
unfortunately ive considered the possibilities
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: