Wiring A Hunter 44132 Thermostat with Heat Pump and Aux Heat


  #1  
Old 07-29-12, 06:50 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring A Hunter 44132 Thermostat with Heat Pump and Aux Heat

Hello, I have a Honeywell basic thermostat and trying to install this Hunter 44132 Programmable. I have the red wire to R.....the Yellow to Y..... The blue to C... Green to G........and the Brown to W2.....The problem is when I turn the cool mode on the heat comes on. I was told to connect the brown wire that is on the W connector of Honeywell to the W2 connector on the Hunter. All the other wires are in the same identical spot as the old one. I do have a white,orange and black wire left over. I do have a heat pump with aux heat. I thought the white wire was Aux. heat. Thanks for any help.
 
  #2  
Old 07-29-12, 07:12 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
First thing to do is return that Hunter (they make good fans, not good thermostats, IMO). What was wrong with the old thermostat? How was the old thermostat wired? Without knowing what the old connections were you will have to check the wiring in the AHU and HP.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-12, 07:18 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Because it was not programmable. The old thermostat wires as follows Red to R terminal the Green to the G terminal the Brown wire to the O/B or W terminal and the Blue wire to C terminal. I was told by Hunter to connect the Brown wire to W2 terminal. All the other wires have a spot on the new Hunter.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-12, 07:33 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
FYI, a programmable t-stat should never be used on a HP system with aux heat. When using a setback temperature during the heating season you will lose all money saved by setting back the temperature when the system tries to recover from the setback and the aux heat strips are used to bring the temp back up quickly.

Old = color = new

R = RED = R
G = GREEN = G
O/B = BROWN = NEED TO KNOW WHAT BRAND HP YOU HAVE
C = BLUE = C


so, according to the info you have given, the white wire was never installed on the old stat? So, you DONT have aux heat? Please post the make and model number of indoor and outdoor unit.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-12, 07:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is a Model #PHM348K00A1 - Icp Now before the a/c tech installed this standard thermostat I had a White Rodgers and the white wire was attached.
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-12, 07:50 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
See page 6 for wiring.... You need to enter the HP and find the wiring to verify colors of t-stat wire vs terminal designations. You need to use the diagram "PHM348--54 Units"

http://icpindexing.toddsit.com/docum...2701110100.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 07-29-12, 07:57 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
In all actuality you need a specialty t-stat in order to get the most out of your system. You need the Honeywell vision pro iaq or prestige 2.0 iaq to operate your system properly. You would have to put the EIM in the HP outside.
 
  #8  
Old 07-29-12, 08:09 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I do not have a pink or violet wire though, but a black wire yes.
 
  #9  
Old 07-29-12, 08:14 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
are you saying you dont have those colors at the t-stat? Of course you dont! You need to check the wires in the HP. Post a picture of the low voltage wiring in the HP.
 
  #10  
Old 07-29-12, 08:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes, no pnk or vio but a black
 
  #11  
Old 07-29-12, 08:19 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
GO TO THE HP! OPEN IT UP AND FIND THE WIRING AS VIEWED IN THE DIAGRAM OF THE PDF. From there either post a picture of the wires or post what color t-stat wire is connected to what color wire from the HP.
 
  #12  
Old 07-29-12, 02:20 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
LISTEN! YOU DON'T HAVE TO HELP ME HERE! You need to understand I'm going behind a A/C repairman that installed this basic thermostat. I'll figure it out without your help.
 
  #13  
Old 07-29-12, 02:21 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
I cant help if you wont listen to what is being asked.
 
  #14  
Old 07-31-12, 05:11 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fixed and working!!!!!!!!
 
  #15  
Old 07-31-12, 05:23 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Glad to hear and hopefully it is wired properly to give you proper operation and the most efficiency possible for the system you have.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: