Hard Start


  #1  
Old 07-31-12, 07:33 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Hard Start

Can someone recommends a hard start for a capacitor that has fan, common and hermetic? One that has 3 wires?

My capacitor is:
Carrier Bryant Payne
40/5 mfd 440 Volt Round Dual Run
Capacitor CPDR405440

Thanks
 

Last edited by WRDIY; 07-31-12 at 08:31 PM.
  #2  
Old 08-01-12, 04:50 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Any hard start will work with that run capacitor. If you are using a 2 wire hard start (dont recommend) then you would wire to C and HERM on run capacitor. I recommend the 5-2-1 compressor saver.
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-12, 05:00 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
thanks for the info. I wired the SPP6 (2-wires) a few months ago and found out last week that it melted apart.
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-12, 05:06 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
when the hard start melts like that, should i have any concerns of any harm to my existing system?
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-12, 05:11 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Hard to say... a megohmmeter could tell you if the insulation of the compressor windings are damaged but those are kinda salty.
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-12, 05:38 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
"I recommend the 5-2-1 compressor saver."

That would be a 3-wire start kit right?
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-12, 05:58 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Yes...three wire start kit.......
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-12, 06:13 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Awesome! Any specific brand or model?
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-12, 06:15 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
  #10  
Old 08-01-12, 06:33 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
I saw on Youtube and it seems pretty straight forward on how to install that to the capacitor (Common and Hermetic) and contact.

My AC is a 4 ton.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...61aj048-b.html

I think that only can handle up to 3 tons.

Thank you so much for your help on this!
 
  #11  
Old 08-01-12, 06:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
they have different models.... they have a 4 and 5 ton kit
 
  #12  
Old 08-01-12, 06:43 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
You are right. I jumped ahead by just looking at the CSR-U1. They also have the CSR-U2 and CSR-U3.

Thank you again HVACTechFW. I wish that I could buy you a beer or something. Have a good one. I am off on ordering it.
 
  #13  
Old 08-01-12, 10:28 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Do you know the difference between CSR-U2 and CSR-U3 since both can handle more than 4 tons? CSR-U1 is for 3 ton and below.
 
  #14  
Old 08-02-12, 04:38 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
they provide higher starting torque
 
  #15  
Old 08-02-12, 05:27 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
You mean CSR-U3 provides a higher starting torque? Do I need it or am I good with CSR-U2?
 
  #16  
Old 08-02-12, 06:06 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Go with the middle. As long as it is rated for 4 tons it is fine.
 
  #17  
Old 08-03-12, 01:04 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,081
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Is there any harm if I put one with a higher torque? What is the purpose of the torque in this case?

Thanks
 
  #18  
Old 08-03-12, 02:02 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
buy the csr u2........................................
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: