Capacitors in ICP/Heil NAC10 2 ton Condenser unit


  #1  
Old 08-05-12, 02:08 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Capacitors in ICP/Heil NAC10 2 ton Condenser unit

Long, long heat wave in midwest US. Blower motor failed recently. Replacement was installed, no problem.

The condenser fan motor is making sounds like it will be next. I'm told an OEM replacement is no longer being made by GE. I've purchased a comparable GE motor that specs a 5 mfd cap.

The old motor uses a 3 mfd cap. There are only red, brown, and black wires on the old unit. A single brown wire on the motor implies a dual cap?

The new motor has 2 brown, 1 yellow, and 1 black wires. It is a tad more powerful but generally comparable (in specs) to the old motor.

To install the new motor, can I just:

a.) Disconnect old brown wire and leave disconnected.
b.) Wire old red to new yellow wire.
c.) Wire old black to new black.
d.) Wire both new browns to new 5 mfd cap -and- just leave it hanging somewhere.

?

I am obviously not up-to-snuff on capacitors.

Thx,
P
 
  #2  
Old 08-05-12, 02:14 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
remove the old brown wire and yes yellow to red and black to black. The 2 new brown wires need to be attached the cap and the cap should be put in the electrical compartment and strapped in.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-12, 07:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'll find a place to strap the cap.

Many Thanks,
P
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: