Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Air Conditioning and Cooling Systems
Reload this Page >

AC Compressor fan is not working but the compressor will run and then shut off

AC Compressor fan is not working but the compressor will run and then shut off

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-12, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC Compressor fan is not working but the compressor will run and then shut off

My AC compressor unit fan will not turn but the compressor will run till it overheat and shut down. The fan motor is hot and the capacitor is hot as well. I tried to turn the fan with a stick. It was moving freely. I read other post and was wondering if the problem is the capacitor. Is it possible for compressor side of the capacitor to work and the fan side is broken? What will be the way to check? I will really appreciate if anyone could post any direction or procedure to check. Thank you.
 

Last edited by landign; 08-06-12 at 06:42 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-12, 07:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its pretty rare that the fan side goes out before the compressor side on the capacitor. Get a new fan motor
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-12, 07:34 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not true I find fan sides of the capacitor out before the compressor very often. Is the capacitor bulged or swollen? Picture?
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-12, 07:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,462
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace capacitor first anyway, it is cheap...
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-12, 10:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. The capacitor is not bulged or swollen. I did replace it before about 1.5 year ago. I do have an add-on run capacitor on the compressor side. I tried to switch that run capacitor add-on to the fan side and it somehow worked one time only. I could not get it work afterward. I will take a picture tomorrow morning. Anything else that I need to check?
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-12, 05:04 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can not just switch capacitors like that. You may have done more harm than good.
 
  #7  
Old 08-07-12, 12:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got a capacitor and replaced it. Now the AC is working again. Thanks for your advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: