Trane 4TEE3F31A1000AB air handler schematic to locate fuse


  #1  
Old 08-08-12, 04:30 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trane 4TEE3F31A1000AB air handler schematic to locate fuse

My upstairs Trane TAYSTAT 40 thermostat's display is blank. We shut off the power and switched the downstairs one with the upstairs one and have figured out that no power is getting to the upstairs one. We have a Trane 4TEE3F31A1000AB air handler upstairs. We found a 5V fuse that looks okay and the air handler seems to be working. I thought there might be a blown fuse that feeds the thermostat but don't know where else to look.

Does anyone know where I can find a free schematic for this model or any idea where to look for the fuse.

Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 08-08-12, 05:50 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
From the TAYSTAT540 manual...

Check if the thermostat is mounted and
latched on the wallplate - mount and latch the
thermostat on the wallplate.
Check if the circuit breaker is tripped - reset
the circuit breaker.
Check if the fuse is blown - replace the fuse.
Check if the system switch is in the Off
position - set to Heat or Cool.


I would replace the 5 amp fuse.
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-12, 06:15 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks very much. The fuse looks okay but we're going to try replacing it.
Extra thanks for the schematic!
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-12, 06:15 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
If it turns out to be the fuse...
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-12, 06:18 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Does your unit have a float switch?
Any water in the pan?

 
  #6  
Old 08-08-12, 06:18 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Even more thanks! We'll check that in the morning too.
Lucky for us, the downstairs A/C is working. It's 89 at 9pm EST.
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-12, 06:21 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Yeah, it's 90 degrees over here too, and humid. 8:22 PM
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-12, 06:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No water in the pan and line's not clogged. We had that problem once before.
We're thinking it's a fuse because the thermostat is blank and there's no battery so we think it's powered by the air handler. We've already verified that the thermostat works by swapping it with the one downstairs. Both work when connected downstairs.
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-12, 06:26 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ugh! You've been having such hard weather for months. At least we've had rain. My heart goes out to you.
 
  #10  
Old 08-09-12, 04:06 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Problem was water gathering in the pipe that the trip wire runs through

One of the clips that holds the pipe up broke so the pipe was leaning slightly down and about a teaspoon of water had gathered at the elbow of the pipe.
We dumped the water and put on a new clip to hold it parallel and it started working immediately.

Thanks so much for all your help!

~Ruth
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: