AC issue


  #1  
Old 08-14-12, 01:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AC issue

Hello all,

We have an issue with our AC. We have two units, one upstairs one down. The upstairs unit is giving us the problems. We set it to run and it works, for a while. Sporatically it will fail to continue cooling. The thermostat reads the current temperature at above the set temp to hold. So it should kick back on, but it is not. The current solution has been switching everything off (on the thermostat) for a few minutes the turning it back on and it begins blowing cool air. Sometimes it requires the fan to be in the "on" position over the "auto." It has not yet failed to return to cooling but something is obviously amiss.

Any thoughts? Thanks for any help you can provide.
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-12, 04:01 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,319
Received 2,309 Upvotes on 2,054 Posts
The next time the problem occurs and the system is trying to run but not cooling notice exactly what is working and what is not. This will help narrow down the cause of the problem. Is the air circulate fan working, do you feel air blowing out of the air vents? Then go outside to the condenser unit. Is the big fan on it turning at what seems full speed and blowing air? Do you think you can hear the compressor running? Can get your hand on the two copper lines going outdoor unit (you may have to touch a fitting at the end of the insulated one) is one line hot and one cold?
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-12, 07:34 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry for delayed response. I will give that a shot. Earlier this week it went into freezer mode, and just kept cooling to where I woke up in the middle of the night with room temp at 65.
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-12, 08:54 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,319
Received 2,309 Upvotes on 2,054 Posts
Then you might add the thermostat to your list of things to check. They can go bad as well.
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-12, 11:49 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thermostats can go bad, however ive only replaced 2 over the last 3 years. But it is possible.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: