t-stat blank

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-14-12, 01:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
t-stat blank

need help figuring out where i have a short replaced transformer and got really hot so i took it off and tested the ohms and it was shorted.the furnace troubleshoot light is telling me theres a short in the 24v wiring and open secondary fuse?i made sure i installed transformer correct with the wiring diagram. replaced transformer in the first place because dogs chewed up t-stat wires going to condenser i also replaced that wiring correctly dont want to call service tech when i just graduated from hvac training!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-12, 05:39 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Wecant find a short for you over the internet. Remove all t-stat wires from the control board and replace the fuse on the control board. Next. you will need to see what circuit the short is on by reattaching the low volt wires one by one and with the thermostat calling for that function as you put that wire on. When the LV fuse blows you know you have the right ckt to trace. Make sure it is a 2 or 3 amp fuse! Anything higher will not protect the transformer. If the transformer blows with no LV wires on control board then it is A. not wired properly B. shorted between the board and the tfmr C. has a bad control board.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-12, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
thanks for the good advice i will try that when i go back to the unit in a couple of days
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes