Run capacitor and hard start kit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-30-12, 02:05 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 452
Run capacitor and hard start kit

I have a 2 ton and a 3 ton lennox xc21. The 2 ton indicated a fault code saying it could be a bad run cap or an open start winding. I reset all and no more code. All ac is working fine. I will replace the 35 ufd run and the spp6 supco hard start kit anyway. They are 4 years old and we are in south Florida. I checked the 3 ton and found it had a 40 ufd run cap but NO hard start kit. I contracted the install so I am positive it never had a hard start kit. I ordered 2 spp6 kits. Should I add one to the 3 ton unit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-30-12, 03:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
It wont hurt, but those units should not need the add on hard start kits.
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-12, 07:55 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 452
I did call the company that installed them and they really did not know if the answer was yes or no. Since I have the 2 spp6 supco units, I guess I'll install them along with a new run cap. Is there a reason that these units do not need hard start kits? I am curious. Thanks. ( my guess is because they use scroll compressors.)
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-12, 03:40 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Yes, scroll compressors don't typically need hard start kits. On recipricating compressors where a txv metering device is used then they are needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes