Run capacitor and hard start kit


  #1  
Old 09-30-12, 02:05 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 447
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Run capacitor and hard start kit

I have a 2 ton and a 3 ton lennox xc21. The 2 ton indicated a fault code saying it could be a bad run cap or an open start winding. I reset all and no more code. All ac is working fine. I will replace the 35 ufd run and the spp6 supco hard start kit anyway. They are 4 years old and we are in south Florida. I checked the 3 ton and found it had a 40 ufd run cap but NO hard start kit. I contracted the install so I am positive it never had a hard start kit. I ordered 2 spp6 kits. Should I add one to the 3 ton unit?
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-12, 03:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
It wont hurt, but those units should not need the add on hard start kits.
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-12, 07:55 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 447
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I did call the company that installed them and they really did not know if the answer was yes or no. Since I have the 2 spp6 supco units, I guess I'll install them along with a new run cap. Is there a reason that these units do not need hard start kits? I am curious. Thanks. ( my guess is because they use scroll compressors.)
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-12, 03:40 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Yes, scroll compressors don't typically need hard start kits. On recipricating compressors where a txv metering device is used then they are needed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: