Old Lennox unit not working!??

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-30-12, 09:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
Old Lennox unit not working!??

Hi guys I'm trying to fault find what's wrong with my old Lennox exterior central heating cooling unit?

The wiring diagram states its a
HS10-263v-2M,
HS10-263v-5M,
HS10-413v-2M,
HS10-413v-7M

First I've checked to see if there's voltage getting to the unit which seems to be ok!
Next I depressed the contactor on the unit a few times which I seemed to get a minor response from the compressor which sounded like it may be trying to turn over.
After trying that a few times that stopped and now what seems to be completely unresponsive when I press the contractor in.

Is the compressor broken?
Any information would be highly helpfull thanks guys.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-01-12, 04:27 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
is your capacitor swollen or bulged on top?
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-12, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
I'll take another glance over it tomorrow, is that the fan motor capacitor?
What do you think it could be?
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-12, 02:16 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,838
Likes Received: 7
Does the fan run when you depress the contactor?
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-12, 03:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
Hey guys had a play with it this morning removed the top fan today to see if I could get to the capacitor looks like I have to take the fan completely out of its housing to inspect.

No I'm getting no action from the fan whatsoever I'm assuming here there going to be a few factors involved
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-12, 03:19 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
http://0190acd.netsolhost.com/manuals/HS10_Series.pdf

page 6 shows the capacitors by the control box which is accessible behind the access panel.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-12, 03:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
photos

hers some piucs of the unit
 
Attached Images      
  #8  
Old 10-01-12, 03:44 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
That looks like your unit is 3 phase (not common on residential equipment). If this is the case then you will not have a capacitor for the compressor. You will have one for the fan motor. Most likely, by your description, you have 1 leg without power. Check all fuses and voltages.
 
  #9  
Old 10-01-12, 03:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
I beleive the house is on 3 phase powe. Does the service manuals show what voltages should be where. I'm pretty good technical and electrically just haven't approached aircon before.
As far as fuses are concerned ill check these also where would they be located? The house fuse box?
 
  #10  
Old 10-01-12, 04:09 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
That would be located on the unit. Most likely it is 208/230 3 phase.
 
  #11  
Old 10-01-12, 05:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
Having some issues locating the fuses any idea why they would look like
 
  #12  
Old 10-01-12, 05:36 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Is there a disconnect switch on the house?
 
  #13  
Old 10-01-12, 06:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
There is a power on off switch on the wall. Will this be fused will it?
 
  #14  
Old 10-01-12, 06:27 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
post a picture please.............
 
  #15  
Old 10-01-12, 10:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
Are the capacitors safe to handle and remove?
 
  #16  
Old 10-01-12, 10:27 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Stop! Please call a pro. This is the best advice I can give you at this time.
 
  #17  
Old 10-01-12, 10:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
I been an elec tech for 15 years bud I just know capacitors can hold a charge
 
  #18  
Old 10-01-12, 10:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
I usually repair tv's lots of capacitors
 
  #19  
Old 10-01-12, 10:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
No offense... you didn't know the unit was 3 phase. You don't have a clue where fuses might be.
It is not a capacitor issue as I have already told you once I learned it was 3 phase. I find it hard to believe that a 15 year electrical tech has not checked voltages.
 
  #20  
Old 10-01-12, 10:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
I can see how that might look I'm Just a noob when it comes to aircon.
Thats fine mate il work it out.
Appreciate your help anyway
 
  #21  
Old 10-02-12, 12:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
Ok

bit more investigating whether your interested or not, fan now turns over when contactor is pressed in and im getting 242 v on all phases, when contactor is not pressed im on getting 92v on phase 2.

i also open up the dissconnect switch couldnt see any fuses have attached photo.
 
Attached Images  
  #22  
Old 10-02-12, 01:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Your IP address indicates you are Australian. Is that correct? Please fill that out in your profile. This is primarily a North American board and the people answering questions may not be familiar with your exact equipment.
 
  #23  
Old 10-02-12, 03:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: australia
Posts: 13
can anyone fill me in on some information regarding attaching a 24v power supply to this unit?
 
Attached Images  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes