PTAC in nursing home patient rooms

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-12, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PTAC in nursing home patient rooms

Hi Folks;

We have 34 of the model No.: EZ09H2CSC151AAY (Islandaire) in our Nursing Home. We were going to install split system A/C units and rip out the PTAC's, but we need 2 air changes per hour, and may have to continue to use a PTAC. I guess we could run duct work and install a rooftop unit, but that is cost prohibitive.

Anyone have any other ideas on satisfying the outside air requirement, other than replacing the PTAC's with PTAC's?

EJB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-12, 12:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,460
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you saying you want to install regular central split AC ? Central split AC is different from PTAC, it involves duct work, location of air handler and condensing units and the size of the unit, etc.. you need to call an AC expert to do some design work first (includes load test). 2 hour air change is not a problem, but the condensing unit must be outside (either on the roof or on the ground). air change device is also need an outside duct. Give us more details on what you really want, may be we can help.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-12, 02:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, the Nursing home wanted to install Mini-splits in the rooms, like this: LG air conditioner, LG heat pump, lg mini spit, lg Air Conditioner, lg ductless online wholesale direct from GoDuctless

Bu2 we need 2 air chtnges per hour, so they will not work. We are trying to avoid installing duct work so it looks like replacing the existing PTAC with an efficient model, is the way to go.

EJB
 

Last edited by edbrady1; 10-05-12 at 04:08 PM.
  #4  
Old 10-05-12, 07:46 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts


Through the use of a ceiling cassette type evaporator you can duct in fresh air. This is the ONLY way you can get ventilation with a mini split.
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-12, 10:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,460
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see now. That is a hard one.....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: