HVAC issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-12, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HVAC issues

I have a tappan unit. The inside unit has a damper system on it. On top of the unit I have a comfort control system. here is the problem I am having. My outside compressor will turn on then when the room gets to the t-sat temp it will shut off. the fan keeps running but the outside compressor will not kick back on again. I have to go to the inside unit and tap the comfort control box to engage the relays. I have replaced all 4 relays but still have to tap the control box to get the compressor to start up. I have replaced the t-stat and relays. What else could it be? Are the relays not getting enough juice to fire up?
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Tmobley; 10-23-12 at 06:13 PM. Reason: More pics
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-12, 07:08 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
please give model number of your zoning system, indoor unit, outdoor unit, and thermostat
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-12, 06:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hvactechfw I will get that to you tonight when I get home from work.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-12, 06:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More pics for HVAC issues

Here is a pic of the comfort control.
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 10-24-12, 07:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outside model fs3bc-042ka (3.5t)
inside model b3bm-042k-bb
t-stat- Honeywell model rth2300b1012
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-12, 07:49 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how many thermostats do you have? Are they all the model you listed?
 
  #7  
Old 10-25-12, 05:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have 2 thermostats. The other one is a Honeywell model # t8112d1005 but we hardly ever have it on because it goes to a bonus room that is rarely used. We only turn the air on when we plan to use the room. The bonus room is what the damper portion goes too.
 
  #8  
Old 10-25-12, 05:52 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
First thing to try is tightening all wiring connections. You never posted the model number of your zone controller. You only have 1to damper?
 
  #9  
Old 10-25-12, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The model # for the Durozone control is SMZ-SW. I did tighten all connections on the zone control and all connectors inside the unit. The unit controls 2 bedrooms, a hall way, bonus room which is one damper and then has a dump station into the living room. Not sure if dump is the correct term or if it's another damper station but we fill the air in the living room once the 2 rooms upstairs are reached. Did I mention when the unit shuts off the fan still runs but the outside unit will not until I go tap on the zone control. Once I tap on the zone control the relay kicks in and you can hear the compressor kick on.
 
  #10  
Old 10-25-12, 09:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would the 24 vac Transformer have anything to do with it?
 
  #11  
Old 10-25-12, 10:13 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not likely...I will look up your zone control later today.
 
  #12  
Old 10-25-12, 02:55 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe you need a new zone controller.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: