"Regular" motor Replacement for A GE ECM X13 Motor

Old 12-16-12, 08:04 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
"Regular" motor Replacement for A GE ECM X13 Motor

Hello, I am a Newbie here. I have searched the archives for my answers before actually posting them because I couldn't find what I needed to know. I'm working on a self-contained AC/heat pump unit with an inside fan motor. It's a GE ECM 5SME39HX L015 (not sure what the L number is either) It has the symptoms of a bad module on the back of the motor. Slow, erratic starting, oscillating. All of the mechanicals and freon on the unit have been checked and are good. The module or a complete motor is very expensive. I would like to replace the motor with a "regular" capacitor start/run type of motor. I know from the elect drawings I'll need a contactor for the 230v (ECM motor 'hot' all the time) with the 24v "speed" control powering the coil of the contactor instead. There are 2 "speed" wires coming from the control board and one from the t'stat (N/C). Of the two from the board, one "speed" (High) comes from the defrost cycle part. and the other must be the run "speed" (Med.) NOW my question. I can't tell what fan speeds these two connections are so I can get an idea on what RPM "range" to look for in a single speed replacement motor. Thanks for any help or insight on this and leads for the "regular" motor I will need.

Old 12-16-12, 09:25 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
Let me get this straight.
You want to remove a two speed condenser fan motor and replace it with a single speed fan motor.
You will not be using the defrost control board anymore ? or if you are how do you know it's working correctly ?

I'm not sure I'd handle the repair like that. Anyway.....with that aside you'll need to get the fan motor part number and either look it up or have it looked up and find out what motor it would be subbed with. Then you could determine the speeds from the subbed motor.