Switching from a three wire motor to a four wire motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-13, 08:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switching from a three wire motor to a four wire motor

Hi all,
I was just curious if anyone could help me. I purchased an AO smith motor with 4 wires to replace my three wire GE motor. On the original motor the 1) Purple wire was attached to the C pole, the 2) brown wire was attached to the fan pole on the capacitor and the 3) Black wire was attached to a curicuit board. (it's a heat pump.

The New motor has 4 wires black and white which the diagram says go to line and are reversible, a brown and a brown with white stripe.

The Grainger tech told me to attach the brown to the fan pole as before, attached the black to the relay on the printed circuit board as before, the brown and white stripe should not be used and the white wire should go to the C pole on the capacitor.

Help

Philip
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-13, 08:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just wanted to add that its a Trane 14i heat pump...
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-13, 09:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,678
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
A part number of the AO Smith motor would probably be immensely helpful.
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-13, 08:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok sorry, the new motor is an AO Smith #FE1028SF
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-13, 08:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is what the wires looked like before I removed the old motor and dual run capacitor
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 01-17-13, 08:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  001.jpg
Views: 944
Size:  34.2 KBName:  002.jpg
Views: 896
Size:  32.7 KBAnd this is what the tech told me to do (which I did with no success). The compressor runs but not the fan with it this way...
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-13, 03:38 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have the new motor wired correctly. It sounds like a defrost control board issue. Did you check voltage to the motor before replacing the motor?
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-13, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Final result

Well after much consternation I was able to determine what the problem was.
I could not understand how the motor was not running and even went to get a second capacitor for just the motor thinking that the motor might not run as a 3 wire set-up.

I hooked the Brown and Brown with white stripe to different terminals on the motor Capacitor, the black to the printed curcuit board with a relay (I found out later this is the, "defrost board." Still all I got was the compresser and not the motor.

Then, I though that the defrost board relay might be stuck so I took the black lead off the relay on the board and the whole relay came right off the board. I still took the black wire and connected it to the black out side of the line to confirm my suspicions and the motor worked fine.

I then very carefully re-soldered the relay back onto the "defrost" PC board and voila, it worked like a champ... Problem solved now its Miller time
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 01-17-13, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, thank you Mr. Moderator for hitting the nail on the head and pointing my snout in the right direction
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: