Condenser fan will not stop running


  #1  
Old 01-19-13, 12:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Condenser fan will not stop running

Trane XB1000 unit: I have replaced the contactor in the outside unit. But when I switch on the breaker, the motor fan starts running, even when the thermostat is switched to off. The contactor is NOT pulled in either.

The only way to stop the condenser fan is to turn off at the breaker.

Any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 01-19-13, 01:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
With the power to the unit shut off, I turned the thermostat to cool mode and to a lower temp than the ambient. The contactor switch pulled in at the outside unit, so my assumption is that the t-stat is working fine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-13, 09:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,658
Received 4,092 Upvotes on 3,675 Posts
That's a heat pump.....correct ?

If it is there should be at least one contactor for compressor and another one for the condensor fan unless the fan is controlled directly from the control board. If it's controlled directly from the board then there may be a defective relay, which is not normally a user replaceable or serviceable part.

It sounds like you may have replaced the compressor contactor which was probably ok.
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-13, 01:48 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
either you have improperly wired the contactor, or you have a bad defrost board (if you have a HP), or you have a bad winding in the cond. fan motor.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-13, 03:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much for your replies!

I have attached the schematic diagram. I don't believe I have 2 contactors and cannot make out if I have a defrost board. How would I check that?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 01-21-13, 03:59 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
you don't have a heat pump so no defrost board. It sounds like you need a new motor.
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-13, 08:17 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Thank you so much. It is what it is, I guess. Gotta buy a new motor
 
  #8  
Old 01-22-13, 08:28 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
replace the capacitor also! Make sure it is the proper value for the new motor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: