Hot wire an electronic cleaner to the furnace blower


  #1  
Old 01-25-13, 02:49 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,868
Received 37 Upvotes on 36 Posts
Hot wire an electronic cleaner to the furnace blower

I have an older Tempstar furnace with a Trion Max5 electronic air cleaner. The internal switch for the air cleaner was one of the air movement/vacuum activated switches. Now the diaphragm in it has gotten stiff or it's contaminated with dust and it no longer switches the cleaner on like it should. It will turn it off, though - no problem. I have to jar the unit to get it to turn on.

I was wanting to direct wire that cleaner switch into the furnace blower circuit so the vacuum switch would be done away with. That's where I need some help.

I know where to interrupt the circuit at the vacuum switch in the cleaner, but not where to go on the furnace to pickup the current to turn the cleaner on.

Would appreciate the help
 
  #2  
Old 01-25-13, 05:56 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
You may have a 120V EAC terminal on the furnace control board that is powered whenever the fan runs.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-13, 06:30 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,868
Received 37 Upvotes on 36 Posts
Thanks for the response.

This has more of control box - roughly 4" X 8" with a couple of lines of terminals down the top face of it. It must be the forerunner of the control board. This thing is about 22 years old, I would guess.

The EAC is for Electronic Air Cleaner?
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-13, 06:34 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
yes, that is what it stands for, so you need an Aprilaire #51 current sensing relay
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-13, 07:14 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,868
Received 37 Upvotes on 36 Posts
OK. I'll see what I can put together. I really appreciate the help.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-13, 07:28 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,868
Received 37 Upvotes on 36 Posts
I believe I know where I need to go with this. The #50 is a 24/50 volt relay and the #51 you're pointing me toward is the 120 volt, which I need.

The current sensing relay will essentially replace the vacuum/air movement switch in the cleaner. All I need to do is find a wire in the furnace that has current only when the blower is running. Mount the relay to read it and run the two wires from the relay over to hook up with the two wires off the existing switch in the cleaner.

I have a tester to find the furnace wire I need, so shouldn't be any problem.

Thanks a lot. I should be able to get this now.
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-13, 09:35 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
It is the white blower motor wire.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-13, 06:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,868
Received 37 Upvotes on 36 Posts
OK. Thanks. I've never really had this thing working right. After this model they went to a different type of switch in the cleaner and did away with this vacuum job.

I've just always fooled with what I had.

Now I know I can get this to work like a top. I saw the current sensing relays on Ebay. I had no idea they even existed.

Appreciate all the help.

Bob
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: