Air Conditioner Runs but does not Heat/Cool


  #1  
Old 03-08-13, 11:36 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Air Conditioner Runs but does not Heat/Cool

I'm in the process of purchasing a new home that has been vacant for 4 years. The air conditioning unit is a 3.5 ton American Standard. Its 8 years old, I have a model # of 2A6H4042b1000AA. I'm not sure if thats completely accurate, but can double check later. The unit turns on however it does not provide any cooling or heating. This is one area of the house which I cannot get a free estimate of the diagnosis and was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to provide assistance on here. Please let me know if any more information is needed, I can provide what I know. I got an estimate yesterday and it was certainly expensive, and would love to avoid the bill if possible because I was told a 8 year old unit should be able to be repaired...it still appears brand new.

Thank you

I
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-13, 03:16 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Is just the fan running or is the compressor running also? Check the capacitor for bulging. If it is a low refrigerant issue then you will have to call a pro.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-13, 05:45 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here are pictures of the 'guts'. Capacitor appears fine as far as bulging... other than the fact that a roach or some other insect has made it its home, the heat pump appears fine, don't you think?

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5223162/Home/photo%281%29.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5223162/Home/photo%282%29.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5223162/Home/photo.JPG
 
  #4  
Old 03-09-13, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,698
Received 4,103 Upvotes on 3,685 Posts
In your second picture..... under the capacitor...... is the starting contactor. It looks like it's missing one of the contacts.

Can you take a closeup pic of just that contactor.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-13, 06:28 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Contactor is a single pole.
 
  #6  
Old 03-09-13, 06:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,698
Received 4,103 Upvotes on 3,685 Posts
Couldn't see detail if single contact or blasted.
 
  #7  
Old 03-10-13, 01:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you still need a close up, of what exactly? Can you please specify? Thank you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: