Frigidaire Window unit has no power


  #1  
Old 05-22-13, 11:05 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Frigidaire Window unit has no power

Hi everyone, I have a Frigidaire model fam187s2a that has no power to the control board. There is power going into the main circuit board, I do see a transformer but do not know how to test it. The unit shows no power on the panel or lights. Thanks for any help.
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-13, 06:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,730
Received 4,114 Upvotes on 3,695 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

On that transformer it looks like yellow and blue are the input to the transformer and will have the line voltage on them which looks to be 240vac for your unit. (correct me if I'm wrong)

The brown wires would be the output line. There should be anywhere from 10-24 vac on them.

I can't seem to find the exact specs on that transformer other then it's a 10 watt unit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-13, 10:35 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes you are correct, 240vac and the transformer does have a blue and yellow wire with 2 brown smaller wires. I will test the output tomorrow. This is my transformer Frigidaire 5304459196 Transformer - AppliancePartsPros.com Do you know if this unit has a capacitor and where it would be?
Thanks for the help?
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-13, 07:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,730
Received 4,114 Upvotes on 3,695 Posts
Sure there are a lot of capacitors on the board. There is also a starting or run capacitor in the unit. That cap will not cause a dead panel issue.

Sears parts direct / Frigidaire-Parts/Model-FAM187S2A11

The cap is part # 15 listed in the link above. Looks to be near the fan motor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: