AC condenser fan shuts off

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-23-13, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb AC condenser fan shuts off

I had the outside fan shutting off or not starting , when it did run would last couple of minutes, compressor runs fine. If I give the fan blade some momentum it will run for a minute then shut down. I had an extra motor and installed that motor and have the same problem, could it be something else or just bad luck with 2 motors. I am afraid to buy a new one and wonder if the same thing will happen? any other causes??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-23-13, 01:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,459
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a capacitor issue..
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-13, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have 3 capacitors and have tried each with the same result. When I started the motor with no blade it would run more often than not so I thought the same that the fan was not getting juiced enough, none were new though so I may try another . thank you
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-13, 03:24 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
whenever you install a new motor you must also install the correct capacitor for the new motor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-23-13, 07:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for help

The one I put in was a working unit w cap so I assumed it would work. I am going to buy a new one tomorrow 5mfd 370vac oval run capacitor The fan I purchased is
Fasco D727 5.6-Inch Direct Drive Blower Motor, 1/3 HP, 115 Volts, 1075 RPM, 3 Speed, 5.9 Amps, OAO Enclosure, Reversible Rotation, Sleeve Bearing
 
  #6  
Old 05-24-13, 12:46 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outdoor init is 240v! Not 115v!
 
  #7  
Old 05-24-13, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The motor that was in the system working for the past 5 years is 115v, the pull from another system in the building is 115v, this is a YORK heat pump dated about 1980, I will try to check another unit but 115v are all I have seen.
 
  #8  
Old 05-24-13, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I put in the new motor and capacitor

When I turn the system I can see a large spark in the motor as it starts, it runs fine for 60 seconds +- then another large spark and it stops. This is with 2 motors. Please tell me what could cause this? thank you
 
  #9  
Old 05-24-13, 03:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 894
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Your using the wrong motor, the condenser is 240 volts.
 
  #10  
Old 05-24-13, 05:50 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There should be a data plate on the unit... verify the voltage!
 
  #11  
Old 05-24-13, 07:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There were 3 different capacitors strapped into the unit I suppose other repairers did not take them out, they all were 5/370 or 7.5 370 units. I have the wiring diagram but I cant tell much from it. The first motor that started the issue has hardly any ID left on it. I can see 60 on it thats all. I guess no matter what I thought I saw the fact that all are 220 proves the motor was a 220.
 
  #12  
Old 05-25-13, 06:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 894
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, 220 - 240, not 115! You will blow a 115 motor with 220 - 240 volts (sparks) which is what happened to you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: