Condenser fan won't stay on

Old 06-13-13, 03:48 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Condenser fan won't stay on

I am a complete newbie when dealing with central air. However, I am handy and a quick learner. Searched the threads for help but haven't found the answer, so posting.

Short background: ac unit wasn't blowing cold air but was running. Called a repairman who came and diagnosed the problem was a bad bearing in the fan motor and would need to replace but he would have to order motor. So I decided to do it myself. Got a new motor and capacitor. Installed them both and started working. It did not last. I am currently able to (at times) turn the ac on via the thermostat and get the fan to start. Cool air comes into my home. However, it will only last about 30-40 min then the fan stops working. I then turn it all off via the thermostat so as to not cause any damage. I am then able to get it to turn on by the same process in about 2 hours. Please help with any suggestions.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-13-13, 03:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Look on the condenser nomenclature for the fan motor FLA and horsepower.
look on your new motor nomenclature for your new FLA
and horsepower.
If either value is less on the new motor it will overamp and drop out.

So if the factory motor was 1.9FLA and your new motor is 1.4 FLA it will overamp and drop out.

Old 06-13-13, 04:42 PM
Thank you for responding. I ordered the motor by the make and model number of the original motor that came in the unit. I also got the exact same capacitor and wired everything according to the pics I took before dismantling the unit.

Last edited by hvactechfw; 06-23-13 at 06:01 AM.
Old 06-13-13, 07:42 PM
Someone, anyone please help. About to have some really hot texas days soon. If I need to call a repair man I need to do it before the weekend. Can't afford him but really can't afford weekend rates!

Old 06-13-13, 08:39 PM
Forum Topic Moderator