A/C wont start on generator.


  #1  
Old 06-28-13, 12:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A/C wont start on generator.

I have a small house (about 700 sq.ft.) with a I think 1.5 ton central air unit in it (I'll confirm this when I get home). Everything works beautifully as its only a little over a year old.
My problem is I have a 6500 watt backup inverter generator that will not start the compressor. My brother has 6000w regular generator that we tried and it powers it no problem. In digging into the problem I found the compressor draws ~7amps and the furnace fan ~4amps, but when the compressor first comes on it spikes to over 32amps.

I've been looking into using a kick start cap to take some of the load off the gen when the compressor starts up but there is very little documentation on this sort of thing. I use a large cap with DC car stereos all the time to take the load off the electrical system when the woofers thump, but not sure if its the same for 220v ac.

If someone knows of this or can point in the right direction so I don't have to buy another generator just to power my a/c I would be in your debt.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-13, 01:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
What is the surge watts of your gen? What is the surge watts of your brothers gen?

Yes they sell hard start kits for this purpose.

The electricians will be on shortly to help you better then I can...

Stand by....
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-13, 02:30 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Try a 5-2-1 hard start kit.... it is better than a 2 wire hard start kit.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-13, 06:33 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for your reply

What is the surge watts of your gen?
The paperwork says 7000 but I'm not so sure. It was made in China I think.

What is the surge watts of your brothers gen?
Also 7000 but it isn't an inverter gen so I'm not sure if that makes a diff.

Try a 5-2-1 hard start kit.... it is better than a 2 wire hard start kit.
I'll head out to Noble Trade tomorrow to see what they have.

Thanks again.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-13, 12:57 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Update:

Worked like a charm. Thanks again for the help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: