GE Window unit not working properly

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-13, 07:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE Window unit not working properly

Hi. Hope some one can help. I have a small GE window air conditioner ( 10,000 BTU, I think) Model number is ASW12ALS1. WE had a power failure a while back and it hasn't worked since... It's a remote control touch pad. This seems to be working fine.When you turn it on the fan won't turn and the capacitator ( I assume that's what it is) that sits on top of the compresser will click avery 20 seconds or so...You can also the the fan blades a good spen with your hand and it'll start working. Not to full strength though. Weak blow of air coming out and wouldn't say it's very cold either...The thing I called the capacitator which sits on top of the compresser has two round cap features to it with wires that are plugged to it. One is not secured to the compresser anymore and the other seems to be glued down. The one that is free of the compresser is the one that "clicks"...I'd like to fix this thing myself since I'm the caregiver for my 88 year old father and am on a very restricted budjet..Any help would be appreciated....Pete
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-30-13, 09:31 AM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
First; Unplug the unit from the power source.

Then take a screw driver with an insulated handle & short across the capacitor terminals to discharge the capacitors.

Then make sure the terminals are a tight fit when connecting them.

There should be a diagram of the wiring circuits some where...

Be ultra careful not to get shocked!
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-13, 09:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Welcome to the forums Pete from another Pete

It sounds like you have an issue with the compressor overload. A picture of this would be really helpful.

You also have an issue with the fan motor. You can try oiling it but that's not usually very effective since it's almost impossible to get the lubricant where it's needed.

This must truly be a disposable air conditioner as there are no internally replaceable parts for sale..... only the filters and the remote control.
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-13, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey Pete #2... ( lol).. Thanks for the help..
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-13, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for getting back to me...I'm gonna take a pic of what I'm talking about and try to send it here or somewhere else if that will help...I'll do that as soon as I can...Thanks....Pete
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: