Outside AC unit is not working at all

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-13, 01:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Obamaland
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Outside AC unit is not working at all

Inside unit is ON and blowing air BUT outside unit just makes a click sound and nothing happens. No Fan is ON and no compressor is ON. I saw that capacitor was bulged out so I changed the new one but still the same issue. I then called my regular Technician and he said I need a new unit. Before I spend over a thousand, is there any way I can fix and use it as long as I can?

There are only 4 things in outside units that could go wrong:
1. Capacitor (which is new now)
2. Contact (I don't know if it good or bad but I don't see abnormal sign there)
3. Fan Motor (I don't know how to check if it is dead)
4. Compressor (I don't know how to check if it is dead).

My unit is at least 15 years old and the brand is YORK.
Any enlightenment would brighten my life to cool down everything else
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-13, 02:18 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Call someone else for a second option.
What did they say was wrong with it?
15 years is a pretty old unit, I would not waste a whole lot of money on it.
$1000.00 to me sounds way off on a replacement unit.
Got a model and serial #?
 
  #3  
Old 07-02-13, 03:23 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so you replaced the capacitor and neither component still runs? That sounds like you need to check for fuses in the disconnect and or check the breaker to see if its tripped. Do you have a voltmeter and know how to use it?
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-13, 08:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,462
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When you turn your AC on, did the contactor engaged ? if not, or you can not tell, use an insulated tool push the contactor button in and see if that start the AC, if not, then as suggested by hvactechfw, use a voltmeter to check further.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-13, 09:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like the contactor is pulling in by the clicking sound you hear. You may have a busted fuse which was already suggested. make sure the unit has power. I highly doubt you need a new unit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: